## 10 .-- Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1927, and present Ministries-concluded.

BRITISH COLUMBIA.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

Name.	Date of Appointment.		Date of Appointment.
J. W. Trutch Albert Norton Richards. Clement F. Corawall. Hugh Nelson. Edgar Dewdney. Thomas R. McInnes. Sir Henry G. Joly de Lotbiniere	July 20, 1876 July 20, 1881 Feb. 8, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897	T. W. Paterson. Sir Frank S. Barnard Col. Edward G. Prior	Dec. 3, 1909 Dec. 5, 1914 Dec. 9, 1919 Dec. 24, 1920

## TWENTIETH MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Finance, Minister of Education and Minister of Industries. Attorney-General and Minister of Labour. Minister of Lands. Provincial Secretary, Minister of Mines and Commissioner of Fisheries. Minister of Public Works and Minister of Rail- ways.	Hon, J. D. MacLean Hon, A. M. Manson Hon, T. D. Pattullo Hon, E. D. Barrow Hon, William Sloan	Aug. 20, 1927 Aug. 20, 1927 Aug. 20, 1927 Aug. 20, 1927 Aug. 20, 1927	

## THE TERRITORIES.

Norg.--In 1888 the districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska and Saskstchewan, called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which eristed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area approximately comprised within their limits was formed into the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan in 1905, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The remaining areas (the Yukon Territory and the provisional districts of Franklin, Keewatin and Mackenzie) are now administered by the Northwest Territories Branch of the Department of the Interior.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS,

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
A. G. Archibald.	May 10, 1870	Joseph Royal.	July 1, 1888
Francis Goodschall Johnson.	April 9, 1872	C. H. Mackintosh.	Oct. 31, 1893
Alerander Morris.	Dec. 2, 1872	M. C. Cameron.	May 30, 1898
David Laird.	Oct. 7, 1876	A. E. Forget.	Oct. 11, 1898
Edgar Dewdney.	Dec. 3, 1881	A. E. Forget.	Mar. 30, 1904 <sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup> Second term.

## IV.—CANADIAN REPRESENTATIVES IN OTHER COUNTRIES.

The policy of the early North American colonies, of maintaining in London accredited representatives for business and diplomatic purposes, was recognized in the eighteenth century as being a more satisfactory means of communication with the British Government than that provided by occasional official visits or by correspondence. Edmund Burke, the noted British statesman, held the position of agent for the colony of New York for some years following 1771. Of the Canadian 48773-7